Executive Board

Californians for Equal Rights Foundation is dedicated to advancing and educating the public on the cause of equal rights.

Our primary objectives and purposes are…

1. Defend and advance the cause of equal rights.
2. Promote civic engagement.
3. Educate citizens and community members on pertinent issues of public interest.

We accomplish our goals through the following methods

(a) Implementing educational campaigns to raise public awareness on equal rights through conferences, seminars, workshops, lectures or symposia.
(b) Carrying out media campaigns and community outreach programs to expand our alliance.
(c) Advocating for policy and/or legislative reforms in support of equal rights.
(d) Conducting rigorous research and publishing books, pamphlets and policy position papers on issues pertinent to equal rights.
(e) Filing complaints and/or taking legal actions against institutions or entities that violate the constitutional guarantee of equal protection or the civil rights principle of non-discrimination.
(f) Championing civic engagement via cultural and educational programming.

CFER’s Federal Tax ID: 85-2315151

President | Frank Xu

Frank Xu is President of Californians for Equal Rights Foundation and co-founder of San Diego Asian Americans for Equality. Frank served as the Statewide Finance Chair for the No on 16 campaign. He has been committing his time and effort to the community since late 2013. After organizing several rallies against discrimination towards the Chinese community, he realizes that the only way to empower the community is to serve and get involved. He was a board member of Educational Technology Advisory Committee and Budget Review Advisory Committee in Poway Unified School District. He also served as an alternate board member of County of San Diego Health Advisory Board. He is now a board member of Rancho Penasquitos Town Council and La Jolla Presidents’ Lions Club.

Executive Vice President | Gail Heriot

Dr. Gail Heriot is Professor of Law at University of California at San Diego and a member of the United States Commission on Civil Rights. Dr. Heriot was a key co-chair for the 1996 Proposition 209 Campaign and co-authored the official rebuttal to argument against Prop. 209. She is a principled scholar and fierce defender of Prop. 209 as well as the 1964 Civil Rights Act. Prior to becoming an academic, Heriot clerked for the honorable Seymour Simon on the Illinois Supreme Court and practiced at law firms in Chicago and Washington, DC.

Vice President | Stuart Hurlbert

Dr. Stuart Hurlbert is Professor of Biology Emeritus at San Diego State University where since 1970 he has taught and done research primarily in the areas of lake ecology, biostatistics, man-environment relations, censorship within the scientific community, U.S. and global population stabilization, and the widespread violation by universities and colleges of our basic civil rights laws. He was active in the 1996 California Civil Rights Initiative (Proposition 209) campaign, the 2002 Racial Privacy Initiative (Proposition 54) campaign, and the 2020 “No on Proposition 16” campaign. He is president of Scientists and Environmentalists for Population Stabilization.

Secretary | Saga Conroy

Ms. Saga Conroy is currently the Secretary and a board member of Californians For Equal Rights, also the Secretary of TOC Foundation. Ms. Conroy has rich field experience in various state-level and national political campaigns. As a proud Chinese American with solid family and cultural values, she champions strategic outreach with great leadership targeting the Asian-American community and grassroots organizing. She has strong networking capabilities to build alliances across diverse ethnic communities. She also has great experiences in media, marketing, government, and public relation fields.

Treasurer | Nelson Zhang

Nelson Zhang is a social activist and one of the co-founders of San Diego Asian Americans For Equality (SDAAFE). He commits his time and effort to the community since late 2013. He has organized several rallies with more than 500 people to join. He volunteers in San Diego Asian Americans For Equality and other organizations.

Executive Director | Wenyuan Wu, Ph.D.

Wenyuan Wu previously served as Executive Director of the No on 16 Campaign. Prior to that, she was Director of Administration at the Asian American Coalition for Education (AACE). She holds a Ph.D. in International Studies from the University of Miami and has authored a book (Chinese Oil Enterprises in Latin America: Corporate Social Responsibility) as well as many chapters in other books. In her official capacity, Dr. Wu has been interviewed by the Wall Street Journal, NBC News, NPR Boston, Boston Globe, Quartz, Ed Source, College Fix, and other prominent news sources. As a writer, she has been published on the CalMatters, Orange County Register, South China Morning Post, and Oil Price, among other outlets.

Parliamentarian | Linghui Wu

Linghui Wu received her Ph.D. in Chemistry from Stony Brook University in 2013, and had worked as a research scientist in New York state for years. After moving to California, Linghui switched her career path to teach in higher education. She is currently a full-time Biology lab coordinator at Laney College and also teaches Chemistry at community colleges as an adjunct professor.